No fun for you!

27 02 2009

Ok, so my high school’s a little “different” sometimes. A conga line was being organized during lunch, and it was to happen today. What happened? Well, you see, the organizers were called down to the main office when lunch started. They were informed that if they in fact followed through on their plan to have a conga line (let me repeat, at lunch, not during class), they would receive five day out of school suspensions.

Now, I don’t know about you, but I think that this seems just a tad excessive. I mean really, 5 days for organizing a conga line? Minilove anyone? What, were they going to gather a legion of conga minions and storm the principal’s office?

Of course, this is perhaps the best way to ensure that it happens. Without this, I doubt more than 5 or 6 people would have been bored enough to do it. But since there are subversive elements (not even just me!) who think our administration are full of it, they can now expect a huge event that will eventually happen threats or no.

And really, what was the point? I mean, OK, I can see not allowing it (the reasons are mostly bad, but I could at least see it) but five day suspensions? I just don’t get the reasoning behind it. It doesn’t surprise me greatly that they overreacted (“our administration are full of it”), but this is beyond even what I would expect of overly uptight school administrators.

I’ll be curious to see what silliness happens next in this little bit of high school drama. And since I’m narcissistic enough to have a blog, I’ll post it for your entertainment (you do enjoy my ramblings, I assume, or you wouldn’t be reading this). I strongly suspect that hilarity will ensue (*pointed look at seniors*), so it should be interesting.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

