Ignorance, thy name is… (2/07)

7 02 2009

…Jeni (yes, another one) Barnett.

She is the latest person in the UK dispensing disinformation about medicine and suing Ben Goldacre. She’s a DJ, and she used her radio show to spread antivaccine claims

I am not a scientist, I would not claim to be a scientist. When tested on the contents of the MMR vaccine I told the truth. I did not have the facts to hand. Was I ill informed? Yes.As a responsible broadcaster I should have been better prepared. As a parent, however, I can fight my corner.

Ok, this seems reasonably…wait, WHAT? Did she just say that a broadcaster should act based on information, but that a parent doesn’t have to?!? I really don’t think I need to say anything about that.

I don’t know everything that goes into cigarettes but I do know they are harmful.

But cigarettes are known to be bad because of well conducted studies, not because of their individual components (although those also provide evidence). The well conducted studies about vaccines, on the other hand, have shown no evidence of severe reactions to routine vaccination at rates higher than about 1 in 100,000.

I find it interesting that the vitriol that comes out of the pro MMR lobby is precisely why Allopathic medicine is struggling. Most of us who seek alternatives allow others their position but often the ‘others’ have a real problem allowing us ours.

It’s called reality, madam. Those who live in it object to others causing harm by inhabiting some other plane. Scientists rip antiscience because that’s how they treat science too, and that’s what keeps science working. They hold ignorant people such as you to a high standard too. Oh no!

Doesn’t change my mind though. The fact that I decided not to have my child jabbed was my decision alone. And it is a lonely decision. To be singled out and held totally responsible for a measles, mumps or rubella ‘epidemic’ is clearly ludicrous.

And to single your child out to be a potential victim of and conduit for these is dispicable. You do not have the right to cause irreperable harm to your child simply because you spat him or her out, madam.

Injecting tiny babies with substances that may compromise their immune system needs to be looked at not shouted down.

I guess it’s a good thing that we don’t do that, isn’t it?

Ladies and gentlemen, Jeni Barnett,  your ignorant fool of the week.

(via Respectful Insolence)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

